Skip to main content

About The District

May contain: nature, outdoors, countryside, rural, and farm

The Rainbow Municipal Water District was established in 1953 and is a Special District, organized under Section 71000 of the California Water Code.  RMWD is a member of the San Diego County Water Authority. The District provides water and sanitation services to the unincorporated communities of Rainbow, Bonsall, and portions of Vista, Oceanside and Fallbrook.  It's comprised of a 5 member elected Board and 5 Divisions.

100 percent of the District's water is imported from two locations; the Lake Skinner Water Treatment Plant in Hemet and the Twin Oaks Valley Water Treatment Plant in San Marcos.  

Rainbow MWD maintains over 344 miles of water main, 6 pump stations, 3 reservoirs, and 13 storage tanks to deliver water to its customers. We also provide sewer services to parts of our District and maintain 8 lift stations and 60 miles of sewer main.

May contain: plot, diagram, map, and atlas


Join our mailing list