MINUTES OF THE COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE RAINBOW MUNICIPAL WATER DISTRICT AUGUST 6, 2012

1. CALL TO ORDER – The Communications Committee Meeting of the Rainbow Municipal Water District on August 6, 2012 was called to order by Chairperson Daily at 10:37 a.m. in the Board Room of the District, 3707 Old Highway 395, Fallbrook, CA 92028. Chairperson Daily, presiding.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

3. ROLL CALL:

- Present: Member Vega Alternate Washburn Member Daily Alternate O'Leary Member Bednarski Member Romani
- Absent: Member Sowden
- Also Present: Director Brazier Superintendent Walker Customer Service and Water Operations Manager Atilano General Manager Seymour Executive Assistant Washburn

No members of the public was present.

4. PUBLIC COMMENT RELATING TO ITEMS NOT ON THE AGENDA

There were no public comments.

Ms. Romani joined the meeting at 10:38 a.m.

COMMITTEE ACTION ITEMS

- *5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES
 - **A.** July 2, 2012

Action:

Moved by Member Bednarski to approve the minutes as written. Seconded by Member Vega.

After consideration, the motion CARRIED by the following vote:

AYES:	Member Vega, Alternate Washburn, Member Daily, Alternate O'Leary, Member Romani, and Member Bednarski.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAINED:	None.
ABSENT:	Member Sowden.

6. REVIEW AND ANALYSIS OF RMWD RELATED MEDIA STORIES

Discussion ensued regarding a recent article by The Village News reporter, Debbie Ramsey, concerning consolidation of RMWD and FPUD.

Mr. Seymour provided an update of the discussion with regard to the proposed consolidation of RMWD and FPUD as well as provided a schedule of planned meetings for the next three months.

7. DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION REGARDING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Ms. Washburn announced that Mr. Sowden has resigned from the Communications Committee.

Discussion took placed regarding Mr. O'Leary become a regular member on the committee as opposed to remaining an alternate.

Action:

Moved by Alternate O'Leary to thank Dawn Washburn for her service on the Communications Committee and remove her as an Alternate Member. Seconded by Member Bednarski.

After consideration, the motion CARRIED by the following vote:

 AYES:
 Member Vega, Member Daily, Alternate O'Leary and Member Bednarski, Member Romani.

 NOES:
 None.

 ABSTAINED:
 Alternate Washburn.

 ABSENT:
 Member Sowden.

It was decided to continue advertising for committee alternate members.

A question was raised regarding whether or not a RMWD employee can participate in committee activities. Mr. Seymour stated he did not think there would be any legal or administrative barriers for this; however, he would investigate it further.

*8. COMMUNICATOR EDITORIAL CALENDAR DISCUSSION AND DECISIONS

Mr. Vega will continue preparing The Communicator article about Capital Asset Replacement costs. Mr. O'Leary will serve as the article reviewer.

Discussion continued with how best implement Mrs. Bednarski's Q&A Topics in the monthly newsletter; or as a stand-alone article. It was decided to include three of four Q&A's in each RMWD newsletter when space is available. Mrs. Bednarski recommended the committee plan on a 60-year anniversary story ("60 Years of Service to the Public") in 2013. Mr. O'Leary volunteered to take this assignment.

9. LIST OF SUGGESTED AGENDA ITEMS FOR THE NEXT SCHEDULED COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE MEETING

Discussion regarding RMWD employee contribution/participation in Communication Committee activities, review of Capital Asset Replacement Article progress (due October 1st to RMWD Management), Mrs. Bednarski's Q&A's for the next cycle of RMWD newsletters.

Mr. O'Leary suggested Committee Member Comments be put back on the agendas as well as adding an item for Staff Member comments.

10. ADJOURNMENT

Action:

Moved by Member Romani to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Member Vega.

After consideration, the motion CARRIED by the following vote:

AYES:	Member Romani, Member Vega, Member Daily, Alternate O'Leary and Member Bednarski.
NOES:	None.
ABSTAINED:	Alternate Washburn.
ABSENT:	Member Sowden.

The meeting adjourned at 11:34 a.m.

Michael Daily, Committee Chairperson

Dawn M. Washburn, Board Secretary